Tangled: A Christian Review

Tangled A Christian Review

Hello Readers!

Earlier today I said that there are several movies that can affect the way you think. Well, I also mentioned Tangled, Disney’s adaptation of the story of Rapunzel. As you can probably tell, I’m not a big fan at all of it, and I’ll let you know why in just a minute. First, I thought I’d tell you what I do like about it. Trust me, it shouldn’t take long.

First off, I like the characters. Not that I like what they do or how they act, but I like it from a storytelling viewpoint. You really see the characters changing in the story. This is especially true of the two main characters Eugene and Rapunzel. At first Eugene is an arrogant guy who steals from others without an inkling of shame about it. As he gets to know Rapunzel, and sees that she cares about him for who he is and not how much stuff he has, he beings to see that acquiring stuff is not what life is all about. He finally has friends in Rapunzel and Maximus, the horse, and they are worth more to him than riches, which is shown when Eugene gives the crown to the two bad guys he had been working with before he met Rapunzel. The storytellers worked little hints into the dialog to show Eugene’s change, like how at first he calls Rapunzel “Blondie” or “Goldie”, but towards the end he calls her by her given name. His final act of selflessness was sacrificing himself, knowing he was going to die, in order to save Rapunzel from a life of servitude.

Rapunzel also experiences a character change. At first she is a trusting, innocent girl who was ignorant of how things really were. As she sees guys who are technically thugs and are actually sweet hearts, a thief who is charming, and experiences all the wonderful things being with other humans brings, she starts becoming torn. Actually, she is torn even before she leaves the tower, but it comes to a peak when Mother Gothel finds Rapunzel and tells her that Eugene will just run off and leave her when she gives him the crown. At the end of the movie, she is a little wiser of the world, but she has retained her sweet, self-sacrificing nature, which I think rubbed off on Eugene a little bit.

Now, for the rest. First off, from a Christian standpoint, the whole story is one of a rebellious teenager who is walking around unchaperoned with a guy, which is glorified into a good thing, for how could you expect her to stay with the evil woman who had kidnapped her as a baby only because of the magical properties of her golden hair? Besides, the guy is kinda cute.

First off, Rapunzel didn’t know that Mother Gothel wasn’t her mother. In Rapunzel’s eyes, up until she is in her room after coming back and sees suns everywhere, Mother Gothel is her mother, and God commands us to obey our and parents. If we glorify challenging our parent figure’s commands, than that is what we’ll get. Eventually, that will lead to deliberate disobedience of the God who ordered us to obey our parents. It doesn’t matter that Mother Gothel wasn’t her real mother. Are you saying that all adopted children or fostered children can just disobey their adoptive or foster parents because they weren’t born to them? No, you wouldn’t, so why are you saying that Rapunzel should be praised and rewarded for disobeying Mother Gothel?

Mother Gothel was not commanding Rapunzel to anything wrong. In fact, Rapunzel was an excellent housekeeper, partly because she had nothing better to do, but she knew how to run a home. I think that is actually something that is looked down on in the movie, especially when Rapunzel is singing “When will my life begin?”. This gives you the impression that sweeping, baking, reading, painting, sewing, and various other homely things are not worthwhile, for they are not a part of life. What does that tell women who seek to be keepers at home and homemakers? That their life isn’t a life at all? That it isn’t until they leave the home under another man’s direction than their God-given authority and follow their dreams that have no lasting purpose and learn all there is to know of this sinful world that their life will begin? God forbid! Do we really want our impressionable girls to have this mindset as they are growing up and learning skills in the home?

Eugene, for all his great character development, is a terrible example as well. I mean, he is portrayed as this dashing young man who knows a thing or two about the world and can guide the innocent girl safely through many dangers, albeit he does lead her into quite a few of them himself, and saves her at the end. I mean, he doesn’t even really die at the end! I am still mad at the writers about that.

In reality, he is a lying thief who is taking advantage of a girl’s innocence to get what he wants, and learns a little bit about how valuable others are in the process. I mean, even at the end, he is still a thief, stealing Rapunzel’s crown off her head, which was, I admit, done in fun, and kissing her before he marries her. The first time I watched it, I thought they had gotten married and was fine with the kiss at the very end, but later I learned they were not, and I was mad at them again. I always hate it when they kiss before they get married. Before they even get engaged. It’s like the kiss is the engagement. It makes me, who has promised her dad not to kiss anyone that way until my wedding day, confused as to what a real romance is like before marriage.

What is sad is that Eugene is my favorite character in the whole film. Really sad. The horse is a close second, and then the piano playing thug. The king and queen are really bad searchers in my opinion, and the guards are nincompoops. They always are.

So, what is my rating of the movie Tangled? Well, I’d probably give it a 2. And all of that is the graphics and characters development. I would not let your child watch this unless you were sitting right with them and telling them every two seconds, “That’s not true.” or “Don’t do that.”

What movies do you either love or despise because of the lessons taught in them? I would love to hear them in the comments section.

God bless you and keep your hearts pure and true to Him in this sin infested world.

~Bethia Lark

4 thoughts on “Tangled: A Christian Review

  1. Have you ever seen the movie The Return to the Hiding Place? Very good, and it makes me cry every time I watch it. It’s based on a true story.
    Maddie Cait

    Like

  2. Pingback: What Disney Has Taught Me…Princesses | Reflections on Glass

  3. I’m confused. What original Rapunzel are you talking about? The one I consider original is the Grimm version, where Rapunzel does not tell Gothel about the prince, she finds out because Rapunzel is pregnant (so not honest or chaste). While this isn’t such a sweet story, I reckon it’s more true to life (although I can’t really give all the details and explain why here).
    I also think you’re being unnecessarily harsh on Tangled. As far as I’m concerned, no one is obliged to obey any authority that is misusing them. Rapunzel is an adult, and Gothel is a tyrant who has just declared her intention to never let Rapunzel leave the tower. She is obviously misusing her authority and trying to enforce rules that she has no right to. In the modern world, what she did would be illegal as well as wrong.
    The reason Rapunzel has no life is clearly because Gothel is practically keeping her as a slave. I don’t think it is demeaning to homemakers. The trouble is not doing chores, but that Rapunzel has never been given the opportunity to make her own choices (and she is nearly eighteen, for goodness sake!) and has never seen anything apart from the inside of the tower. I’m pretty sure that counts as having no life.
    I honestly can’t see what the problem is with Eugene taking the crown: it is clearly in fun. It looks to me like you’re nit-picking because you hate the film, but please tell me if there is something I missed.
    So, yes, I think this is over-analysis of an innocent story, and the analysis is not even that accurate. Don’t get me wrong: I know you have every right to hate any film you want! I don’t want to sound too harsh, but that was a very harsh review, so I take it you’re fine with getting responses in the same tone?
    God bless you, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

