Guardian Angels: Part Eleven

Hello Reader!

So we reach our second-to-last (yes, I know I said that last time) part of this story. The last part is the epilogue to tie up some loose ends. As a reminder, I will be taking all of this story’s parts off my blog in about one week. If you would like to read or re-read parts, do it now. I am going to try to get the epilogue out tomorrow, so count on next Thursday being to due date, where I will be removing them all by 4:00 PM ET. You have received fair warning. If you would like to read the whole thing after it has been removed, still give me a buzz in the contact section and I will consider it. Don’t be offended, however, if I decide to keep my baby under strict lock and key. It’s just that I have spent a lot of time on it. As usual, if you would like to refresh you memory about the last part, click here to read the tenth part.

                I awoke to someone calling my name. “Hielbial.”

The voice was quiet and still. I blinked, and my eyes were filled with indescribable light. I was on my feet, if you could call them feet. Yes, I free from my human body at last. A lingering feeling of barely controlled excitement ran through me, and I wanted to leap into the air, or throw my arms around someone or something, but the only being around me now were angels, and Him. So, instead, I covered myself in worship, singing a sweet song to the LORD, Yahweh.

I almost laughed. My voice was clear. It still wasn’t as perfect as Yahweh ought to have had, but it was far better than the raucous noises I made as a human. The melody was smooth and rang of His might and power and glory. It was how it was meant to be again.

Although I cannot say that my heart sank, I did feel a pang of sorrow. Perhaps it too was a residual feeling, but since I still have it, I don’t think it was.

Yahweh knew. He always does.

I knew more about the world than before this all happened. I knew more about Yahweh. I knew more about myself. I knew more about His creatures, Man, whom He had put on earth as His children. You might think I was jealous, but the thought never crossed my mind. No, it wasn’t jealousy that caused the sorrow, but I think I did feel a sort of loss. And yet, I had gained. It is hard to explain. Even when Yahweh explained it, I could not put it into my own words, but still, I am at peace.

I had learned so much. How could I go back to my life before? I would never be the same. The other angels didn’t understand. I don’t think I fully did either, and I certainly couldn’t explain it to them. But one thing hadn’t changed: I was still a Guardian Angel.

Shortly thereafter, I was back on earth, this time keeping out of sight, watching as a mother, who didn’t know she was one yet, nurtured another one of Yahweh’s Men inside her. A precious gift she held. Did she know it? Did she know what suffering my LORD suffered for that little one? Did she know what a beautiful life she held. Not yet, she didn’t. But if I had anything to do about it, she would. For Yahweh’s glory, I would.

A man walked into the room, his face familiar to me. Though his features were the same as I had seen him last, they seemed to be filled with more care, more wisdom, and more gentleness, and yet I could not recall where I had last seen him, or even his name.

He took the woman in his arms. Then together, they walked towards me. Even though I was invisible, I hid behind the shutter of the window as they stared out into the night sky. The silver light illuminated their faces, and I remembered.

Henry White. Lieutenant Henry White.

I watched as she laid her head on his shoulder, then as he slipped his arms around her waist, holding her close.

Then he spoke. “Mary, I never finished the story, did I?”

Mary shook her head.

“Right at the moment the sun rose, and the pirate had let out his last breath, she disappeared. Then, as I turned around, I saw that the other pirates who had helped us were gone too. I guess they were just like her: Doom Angels. I was left on board a ship with no crew and dead bodies lying around. It was not pleasant, I can tell you, but the hard work of getting the ship in order and getting her setting out for the nearest port distracted me from her absence.”

White’s voice began breaking, and Mary tried shushing him. “Now, Dear, you shouldn’t go on if it hurts you. You can tell me the rest later, if you feel up to it.”

“No, Mary. I must finish it tonight. I can only suppose that she made it in time, and that she didn’t truly die, and that she is an angel again, but it doesn’t make the pain any less.” White turned and took a lock of Mary’s golden hair in his own, twisting it around in his fingers. “You are good not to be jealous.”

Mary laughed. “I wish I could have seen her. You make her out to be so interesting I can’t help but understand why you should miss her so.”

White took his wife’s hands. “Yes, I miss her. She was curious, and we could have taught each other so much.” He released her and turned back to the window. “I only wish now that we could have said goodbye.”

“Maybe someday, Dear.” Mary said as she patted White on the shoulder as she went by. She paused by the doorway. “You won’t stay up too long, Dear, will you?”

“No, I will be in soon.” White said, and Mary left.

After asking Yahweh what I should do, I entered the room. As he turned away from the window, I spoke. “It’s good to see you again, White.”

He went white. “Rebekah?”

I smiled and nodded.

“But that’s not your name anymore, is it?” He asked, taking a step closer.

“No. It’s not.”

“Hielbial.” His voice was a whisper, as though searching for the right word.

Yes. That is my name. Hielbial.

He held out his hand. “I didn’t get to say goodbye.”

“No, we didn’t.” I took his hand.

Suddenly, he turned it over and laid his fingers on my wrist. After waiting a few seconds, he looked up at me, his face almost pained. “You don’t have a pulse.”

I shook my head.

Next he asked me to whistle. I tried, but couldn’t do it.

Then, he shoved the candle’s flame into my skin so that I could not help but have been burned. And yet, I wasn’t.

“You’re really an angel again, aren’t you.”

I nodded. Speech didn’t seem necessary.

“And I won’t see you again, will I?” White’s eyes were filling up with tears.

“Probably not.”

“Then why are you here?” He brushed the drop from his cheek away.

“I’m back to my old job.”

He looked startled, and then looked towards where his wife lay waiting for him. “You mean…”

“Yes.” I was beaming. “You are having a baby, and it will be a girl, but don’t tell anyone, not even your wife, about it. You need to find out about it naturally.”

“Oh, sure.” White said. “But does that mean you are her Guardian Angel?”

“Yes.”

“Then I guess this isn’t really goodbye.”

I held out my hand once more. “Yes, it is, White. It is.”

He took my hand as if in a dream. I started dematerializing when he called out, “Don’t go away and leave me forever!”

“I won’t.” I called out of the darkness. “Nor will Yahweh. He shall never leave you nor forsake you.”

“Right.” He laughed through his tears. “Spoken like a true angel.”

If I had been a human again, I would have cried too.

My last words to him were, “Yahweh go with you, Henry White.”

His words promptly came back to me. “You too, Hielbial.”

I cried as I was writing this scene. In fact, I’m still crying. It’s almost over.

I am too emotional to say anymore. I hope you have a very good day until I write again, then I hope you have an even better week.

 

~Bethia

One thought on “Guardian Angels: Part Eleven

  1. Now this part was very touching!!! Well done!! The only thing is that in the beginning of this excerpt, the angel mentions that the woman has one of Yahweh’s Men inside her, but then Heilbel tells white that theyre gonna have a girl.
    I gotta go read the epilogue!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

